Academics / PHY


    Shahjalal University of Science and Technology (SUST) started its journey on 14 February 1991. The academic session 1990-1991 was commenced on the same day. The 1st class of the first 1st year was on 16 February 1991 in the room 307A and the class was conducted by the Head of the Department Professor Dr. Arun Kumar Basak. Professor Dr. Arun Kumar Basak is serving now as an Emeritus Professor of the University of Rajshahi. On that time, the Head of the Department of Physics was appointed as the first Dean of the School of Physical Sciences. Then, Mr. Nazmul Ashab acted as Head (in charge) from 20 June 1994 to 31 July 1995. Mr. Nazmul Ashab already went to retirement from the Department. Nuclear scientist Professor Dr. M. Habibul Ahsan acted as Head from 01 August 1995 to 31 July 2010. Then Professor Dr. Yasmeen Haque served as Head from 01 August 2010 to 31 July 2013. Current Head Professor Dr. Syed Badiuzzaman Faruque has been continuing his duty efficiently as Head since 01 August 2013. The Department of Physics organized a conference ‘National Conference on Advances in Physics 2012’ in February 2012, where papers were presented by researchers of different Universities and Institutes from the country as well as from the neighboring country India. In January 2013, this Department organized a conference titled ‘International Conference on Advances in Physics 2013’. It is a matter of pride for the Department of Physics that this Department is one of the two Physics Departments of the Universities of Bangladesh who have been selected for HEQEP Project for research in the first phase. This project, in the field of Nonlinear Optics and Laser Optics is worth Taka 2 cores and 97 lacs, has been completed successfully and its research findings have been presented in national and international conferences. Another HEQEP project worth Tk. six cores is underway. Moreover, research works in the fields of Quantum Mechanics, Gravitational Physics, Atmospheric Physics, Reactor Physics, Neutron Radiography, Nuclear Physics, Biophysics, Solid State Physics, Nanoelectronics and Optoelectronics are running in this Department. At present, a good number of students and faculties from this University, other Universities and Govt. Colleges are doing research for the degrees of M. Phil and Ph. D. First Ph. D. awardee from this University Professor Dr. Syed Badiuzzaman Faruque is continuing his duty as Head in this Department. Several Ph. D. degrees have already been awarded through this Department. Many teachers and students of this Department are doing their higher studies with research taking teaching assistantship in foreign countries, which specially helps to earn positive impact on the country. The Department has well-equipped Laboratories, which are equivalent to the world standards. A student from this Department has shown his success at NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration), USA. There are 14 Professors, 3 Associate Professors, 5 Assistant Professors, and 5 experienced laboratory staffs in the Department. The departmental office is always active to serve the needs of its clients. There is an organization in the Department called Physics Society whose activities are to organize seminar, workshop, study tour, cultural program, sports, and to celebrate different national days. This Department has organized divisional physics Olympiad in the past 3 years. Graduates of this Department are being appointed frequently in BCS education cadre as well as other cadres. Most of the faculties of the Department Physics at Govt. Colleges in Sylhet are graduates of the Department of Physics, SUST, which bears pride of this University.